Day 88: January 27 – 10 Things I Learned About Headstands

10 Things I Learned Today About Headstands

1. Looking at the world upside down is a little funny. Think Looney Tunes with mats.

2. Having all the blood rush to your head is actually good for you once in awhile. Gives your brain something extra to work with.

3. My noodle arms are my downfall. Literally.

4. I hate dolphin pose. Which I will be doing more of now that I’ve seen how noodley my arms actually are.

Dolphin pose

Dolphin pose

Dolphin plank pose

Dolphin plank pose

 
Actual dolphins

Actual dolphins

Closer to what I actually look like (if those bottles were water)

Me

 

5. I have boney elbows. Ouch.

6. Doing a headstand requires much more core strength than you think. My stomach feels like it’s been doing situps all day. Which it was. At a 90 degree angle.

7. Many teenagers are naturally good at headstands. The kid in my Yoga Gangster class who last week wouldn’t participate because of his “4 broken ribs”, this week grabbed a mat as soon as I walked in and asked when we were going to do headstands. I made him wait until about halfway through on the promise that we would do them. And when we got there, he was the first one up. He could. not. wait. to show me what he could do. And he was good at it.

8. Headstands are a metaphor for life. They require strength, balance, control, and patience.

9. I am not a graceful faller. Also a metaphor for life. Or maybe just mine.

10. This headstand will not beat me. I am waaaaaay more stubborn than a headstand is hard, so I will get this damn thing eventually. And when I do, you will know, because I will be posting that picture all over the damn place. Damn it.

(11. Headstands apparently make me swear a lot.)

I asked one of the kids at Huck House to take my picture to prove I was trying the headstand. And this was all that was in the camera. Proof that I can put my head on the mat.

I asked one of the kids at Huck House to take my picture to prove I was trying the headstand. And this was all that was in the camera. Proof that I can put my head on the mat.

Today I am thankful for turning my world upside down on occasion. When you do that, the bad stuff falls out, and you find your balance.

Leave a comment